A Little Night Music

Friday 14 October 2011

Music Network Presents

Cappa Ensemble

Bartosz Woroch Violin
Adam Newman Viola
Brian O’Kane Cello
Michael McHale Piano


Cappa Ensemble playing in Sligo 2011

Ticket Sales: The Hawk’s Well Theatre
Tel: 071-9161518
Or book on line www.hawkswell.com

€20 – €18

(inclusive of Meet the Artists reception)
(€10 students at the door only)


Bach: Inventions String Trio (arranged for string trio)
Liszt: Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude
Bax: Piano Quartet
– Interval –
Ian Wilson: Noct for piano quartet (2011)
Mozart: Piano Quartet in E flat K.493

Named after the celebrated 17th-century Italian violin-maker Gioffredo Cappa, this exciting young chamber ensemble has quickly established itself as a quartet of outstanding artistry, touring extensively in Australasia and Japan as well as throughout the UK. Winner of Music Network’s Young Musicwide competition in 2009, the quartet boasts a line-up of top performers in their own right.

“Noct is a night piece, inspired by the constellated sky and the idea of gathering darkness. Noct relates most closely to the slower movements of the Mozart and Bax works, but more like an after-image rather than a reflection.” Ian Wilson

“In Schumann’s Piano Quartet, it was as if the lights had come on. Everything worked. There was subtlety and power in the playing, and an easy give-and-take not apparent elsewhere. This was the kind of spot-on performance that must have brought them their Young Musicwide success in the first place.” Michael Dervan Irish Times.

Click here to read Cappa Ensemble’s biography
Sponsored by

The Music Network Ireland logo