Beethoven and the Ladies!
RTÉ Contempo Quartet

Date: Sunday 14 January 3pm
Venue: The Model, the Mall, Sligo

Admission: €20 (€10 students on the night)

Bogdan Sofei violin, Ingrid Nicola violin, Andreea Banciu viola, Adrian Mantu cello



Ina Boyle:
Jane O’Leary:
Quartet in A major, Op.18, No.5
Quartet (1934)
the passing sound of forever
Quartet in F minor, Op.95

While this concert is devoted mainly to Beethoven’s string quartets, we also pay homage to two female Irish composers. Jane O’Leary is composing and living in Galway while Ina Boyle died 50 years ago and was almost forgotten until her recent revival by a group of enthusiasts.

Ina Boyle (1889-1967) was a prolific composer of vocal, choral, chamber and orchestral music, but her works are rarely performed today and few were published. She was a pupil of Ralph Vaughan Williams who thought highly of her music and encouraged her to have it performed.

Jane O’Leary (1946) Born in Hartford, Connecticut, she has lived in Ireland since 1972. She is a founding member of Aosdana as well as Artistic  Director of Concorde, a founding member of Music for Galway and is very active as a composer.


Sponsored by John Sharkey