Romanian Rhapsody

Friday 10 January 2014 @ 8pm

Venue: The Model, The Mall, Sligo


Bogdan Sofei, Ingrid Nicola – violins
Andreea Banciu – viola
Adrian Mantu – cello

The Contempo Quartet Sligo Concert

Admission €20 (Students €10 at the door) inclusive of Meet the artists reception

Bookings: Hawk’s Well Theatre / Tel: 071 916 1518 / Book online:


Joseph Haydn String Quartet in B Flat Major,
Op.76, No.4 “Sunrise”
Ludwig van Beethoven String Quartet No.11 in F minor
(Serioso) op.95
Hugo Wolf Italian serenade
Ian Wilson Her charms invited (String quartet No.12)
Romanian Rhapsody (traditional music from Romania)

This concert presents an interesting mix of works: from the celebrated Sunrise Quartet to Ian Wilson’s short work from 2011 premiered in London by the Badke Quartet. It includes a seldom heard lively one movement piece by Hugo Wolf (well known composer of lieder) and also the Serioso Quartet, one of Beethoven’s middle period quartets. The ConTempo  Quartet has won numerous awards and is currently Galway Ensemble-in-Residence.

The string playing was both intimately engaged and subtly but distinctly extrovert. Lively and intricately balanced, the ConTempo worked the gallery acoustic to best advantage, and their sound ranged from a full bodied richness to a searing, almost period-instrument quality … lucky Galway!” The Irish Times

Supported by
The Model Gallery Sligo Avenue Mould Solutions Sligo County Council Sligo County Council