Date: Friday 19 May 8pm
Venue: The Model, the Mall, Sligo

Admission: €25 (students €10 on the night)

Bookings: The Model
Tel 071 9141405 or

Elizabeth Cooney, Mairéad Hickey – violins, Simon Aspell, Ruth Gibson – violas, Guy Johnston, Brian O’Kane – cellos

Sextet Con Brio Sligo Music 2016


Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence
Johannes Brahms Sextet No.1 in B flat major Op.16

The Brahms String Sextet no.1 and Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence are two iconic masterpieces of chamber music from the Romantic era. The sextets (composed thirty years apart – the Brahms in 1860, the Tchaikovsky in 1890) celebrate this unique combination of two violins, two violas and two cellos, exploring rich, luminous timbral textures and unusual sonorities through passionate musical dialogue.

The recital features some of the best Irish and English performers of their generation. We are particularly thrilled about welcoming back Guy Johnston, one of the premier English cellists and an old friend of Con Brio. A warm welcome also to Mairéad Hickey and Ruth Gibson who are coming to Sligo for the first time. Elizabeth, Simon and Brian have all played for us before.

The recital will be followed by a Meet the Artist reception. All welcome.

Classical Links Abbott