The Vanbrugh Quartet presents… Harvest

Date: Friday 16 October 8pm
Venue: The Model, the Mall, Sligo

Admission: €20 (students €10 on the night)

Bookings: The Model
Tel 071 9141405 or

Gregory Ellis – violin, Keith Pascoe – violin
Simon Aspell – viola, Christopher Marwood – cello

The Vanbrugh Quartet


Mozart String quartet K.387 in G Major
Shostakovich String Quartet No.8 in C minor
Tchaikovsky String Quartet No.3 in Eb minor

Ireland’s longest established string quartet, the Vanbrugh Quartet was founded in 1985. It is one of Europe’s most successful quartets, internationally recognised for its beauty of sound, clarity of texture and integrity of interpretation within an unusually wide and varied range of repertoire. In 1986 it became RTÉ’s resident string quartet and won the London International String Quartet Competition in 1988. The Quartet enjoys a thriving international career, performing at top venues throughout Europe and the USA, as well as boasting an impressive catalogue of exemplary recordings.

“Impressive playing, passionate and sensitive by turns, from the RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet.”
Richard Whitehouse, Gramophone (2013)

The recital is followed by a Meet the Artist reception. All welcome.

Supported by:

Foras Eireann Logo Bord na Mona